UPDATE

Hello and Welcome new subscribers!

I am deluged with responsibility right now in response to the recent raid and shutting down of my local food club. I will be updating the blog but probably not for a few days. In the meantime, I can be heard on Coast To Coast AM (http://www.coasttocoastam.com) with Karine Bouis-Towe (grassfedonthehill.com) and Jonathan Emord,( http://www.emord.com/) this Wednesday night (Thursday morning on the East Coast) to discuss the RAWESOME raid and our right to whole, enzymatically intact foods (specific focus raw milk) and the rights of independent farmers .  The program reaches 20 million people, runs from 11PM to 1AM Pacific. If you’re up, I hope you’ll listen in and call in support of these rights. If you can’t hear it then, it will be archived.

We will also be announcing our newly formed coalition: Farm Food Freedom (farmfoodfreedom.org) that is backed by the Farm To Consumer Legal Defense Fund (FTCLDF), represented by Jonathan Emord, and will be working with the Real Milk Institute, Weston Price and others crucial to this movement. We will also be joined by other food clubs around the country.  The site forwards you to grassfedonthehill.com for now, stay tuned for the launch of our official site–there’s been a lot to get together in less than seven days!

While I am not a raw milk drinker myself, I do believe everyone has the right to drink it and to have access to intact (read non-gmo) healthy foods.  I hope you’ll join me in seeing these rights preserved.

Best, Laurie

 

About lauriesfoodblog

I work with many different clients on a host of issues that range from the general to the particular. I am a blogger, contributor to health newsletters, speaker and can be heard on numorous radio and streaming talkshows. I see nutrition as a gateway to autonomy for some; the next logical step for others; a honing of one's intuition; a furthering of one's self-exploration; an oportunity to heal and seal; an invitation to live one's best life. Sometimes my clients desire to focus solely on the nutritional aspects of my counseling, other times it is the emotional/energetic concerns that form our sessions, and often there is some of both. The mind/body connection is a powerful dialogue that only improves as we improve our diet lifestyle. I received my B. A. with a double major in history of mathematics and science/philosophy (ethics, metaphysics and political theory) and a minor in classical studies and comparative literature from St. John's College in Santa Fe, New Mexico. I received my training in holistic nutrition from the Institute for Integrative Nutrition (with support from SUNY Purchase, NY). I am a member of the American Association of Drugless Practitioners. At IIN, I trained in more than one hundred dietary theories and studied a variety of practical lifestyle coaching methods. Drawing on this knowledge, I will help you create a completely personalized “roadmap to health” that suits your unique body, lifestyle, preferences, and goals. I offer a green/yellow/red program that allows you to choose the most comfortable pace to your chosen health and wellness desires. I've worn many hats in my professional life but I've always had a natural propensity for health and wellness. As a 20-plus year real food advocate, speaker, writer and blogger on this topic, I am passionate about healthy living. During my college years, I worked at a perma culture center, health food store in the supplement department and saitan maker (one of only three in New Mexico at the time) and I was very active in the alternative food community. Upon graduation, I entered the entertainment field where I worked primarily as a producer. All the while continuing my studies and exploration of diet, nutrition and the mind-body connection, I was known to provide vegetarian catering (much to the dismay of my union workers), have tea tree oil or fresh juice on hand for any cast or crew in need. While some diet experiences were more short lived than others, I have tried my hand at being a fruitarian, vegetarian and vegan though now consider myself a "selectarian" or "flexatarian". I've explored raw food diets, fasts and cleanses of many varieties including pancha karma, a five-day ayurvedic cleanse and BodyEcology stage one and two (not so much a cleanse as a lifestyle). My study and application of "primary food" (see approach) modalities is also rich and extensive. Having been an executive producer for a streaming media production company, A Doctor In Your House, I've worked intimately with many celebrities who've grappled with health issues. During this time, I spent a year with Carnie Wilson, directing a documentary about her struggles with obesity as she embarked on laparoscopic bypass surgery. This tenure gave me firsthand exposure to the personal struggles, challenges and insights garnered from these experiences and allowed me to better understand what worked and what disappointed. I also defined more fully my preference for holistic care as its own approach or as a compliment to traditional western medicine. As co-founder of a national non-profit, F3C (Farm Food Freedom Coalition, farmfoodfreedom.org) that serves to educate and protect the rights of individual farmers, artisans and consumers, I am well-versed regarding current food quality compromises. I can help you navigate the often politically challenging and commercially deceptive food system so you can access truly nutrient dense foods from producers committed to sustainable and healthy food practices. As Director of Communications for IRT (Insitutite Responsible Technology, responsibletechnology.org) that is a leader in GMO education, outreach and awareness campaigns, I am at the fore of GMO developements and integrate this knowledge into my practice as well as share this comprehensive education with my clients. I have worn many hats (producer in the entertainment industry for 13 years, owner of an organic lavender private label and retail company that furnished the hotel, spa and yoga communities, writer and work with energetics). I am also a home-birthing, non-vaccinating, long term breast feeding, hands-on mother who is a real foods writer/blogger and a whole foods supporter for over 20 years. I have always had a penchant for whole, enzymatically intact, organic foods and have explored many diet modalities. During my college years I worked in a health food store, permaculture center and was one of only three setain makers supplying New Mexico at the time. Having carried bottled water when I was in grade school, before it was trendy and before the truth of plastic was understood, my passion for health and wellness runs deep. I love learning about all food theories and modalities and am a research fiend! I view myself as an ever changing work-in-progress and am always experimenting, tweaking and adjusting my well-being lifestyle and that of my family’s. To learn more about me please go to: http://lcphealthworks.com/about-1 To join my newsletter or for one-on-one, group counseling, in-home demos, shopping tours, revisions for home, body care and diet lifestyle or for lecture requests please visit www.lcphealthworks.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to UPDATE

  1. Aaron says:

    I could’t find that address you mentioned on Coast, or here. Did you mean http://farmandranchfreedom.org/ instead? If not, then DNS isn’t resolving the address at all. Perhaps because the Federal Government exercised their illegal power to destroy DNS records. They’ve done it before, and will do it again.

  2. Aaron says:

    502 Bad Gateway

    nginx/0.8.52

    As you can see, a web server does come up, so, DNS is resolving, but it is not redirecting for me. I’ve been to grassfedonthehill.org, great site! 🙂

Leave a comment